Celebrations

Discover. Play. Build.

Ruth Ayres invites us to share our celebrations from the week each Saturday.  Thank you, Ruth, for reminding me to celebrate. Share your celebrations at Ruth Ayres Writes.

It’s been a week since All Write, and my mind is still buzzing with ideas for next year.  After returning I haven’t stopped going- I hosted a baby shower and had busy week preparing for China.  (I leave on Tuesday!)

There’s been so much to celebrate:

1. I loved seeing and connecting with old friends at All Write.  It was wonderful being back in Warsaw, and it was nice knowing more of what to expect.  It really is like summer camp like Ruth says.

2. I met new friends in person there that I connected with online (Leigh Anne).

3. I got the most beautiful, thoughtful bracelet from Elsie.  I’m still touched at the sentiment behind my OLW bracelet and love being reminded that I wanted to thrive this year.  Thank you again, Leigh Anne.

4. It was funny having a laugh with Christy as I realized we both were hoping our session with Kelly Gallagher wouldn’t end.  I yelled “NO” and she was checking her watch as we realized our time with him was almost finished.

5. I got some great new professional books suggestions from Christy, Mary Helen, Tammy, Elsie, and Linda.  I’m so excited to participate with Linda and others in a book study with Read Write Teach.  

I’ve been crossing my fingers that my last minute orders will arrive before I leave.  I’m wishing I could bring a book suitcase :).

6. I was reminded at All Write that I don’t always see myself accurately.  I am always so self critical, so it was neat to see myself from Leigh Anne Eck’s perspective. She pointed out how brave some of my travels were.  I had never thought of myself as brave, so it was interesting to consider this.  I couldn’t help but realize we don’t always see ourselves the way others see us.

When Ruth shared her personal story and acknowledged her past struggles, I couldn’t help but notice that she does this too.  I was in awe of her parenting and patience, and I wished she could see what we see when she doubts herself.   I guess we can all benefit from seeing ourselves from someone else’s perspective from time to time.

7. I feel grateful I have the most wonderful mom who always is looking for ways to help me and make my life easier.  She has gathered countless items to help me with my trip.  I don’t even have to ask and she’s ready to give.  I’ve left her house with everything from suitcases, Easter eggs for a lesson I’m doing, every toiletry imaginable, and much more.

8. I took some time this week to read even when I had a long to do list.  I read The Fault in Our Stars in one sitting this week.  I loved getting sucked into this book and sobbing out loud.

9. I went garage saleing with my grandma.  Her dry sense of humor makes me laugh, and it’s always fun spending time with her.

10.  I shared some ideas with a teaching friend who wasn’t able to make it to All Write.  We’ve come up with a list of important things we want to work on this year (a vision with sub categories), and we are swapping notes tomorrow.  I love having someone who shares my passion for teaching and pushes me.

11. I played in a golf tournament (first time playing in 5 years) and was not completely horrible.  My goal in a 4 man scramble being the only girl was to use one of my drives on a Par 4/5 hole.  I hit one right down the middle, and we ended up using my shot.  I also had the women’s longest drive for the first half of the tournament.

I was really nervous because my dad put me by myself with a group of his friends to play because he was already playing with another group.  He apparently told them I played in high school and was talking me up.  I almost died when I heard this.  First of all, I was horrible in high school and that would maybe matter if I wasn’t in my 30’s.  My high school days were a while ago.

I could go on and on, but I have to pack!

8 thoughts on “Celebrations

  1. Jen, I was so glad to read your post and see that you made it to All Write. I’m curious about your new job. And trying to remember what you’ll be doing in China. Wonderful celebrations, so glad that you have a friend who shares your passion and vision. Bon Voyage, my friend!

  2. Ramona,
    I missed you this year! I kept looking for you. I’m moving to a new school and teaching language arts in 7th grade. I will have to pick your brain. I think you are middle school too? I’m teaching a workshop in China to educators. They want people who speak english and to learn teaching practices to use with their students.

    I think I’m doing the book club with you- I bought the book Linda told me about. How do I participate?

    So great to hear from you.

  3. Wow…the celebrations poured out of this post. I LOVE it!! All Write sounds amazing and I hope I get there & get to meet you someday. China?!?! Oh my goodness…I agree with Leigh Anne, you are brave. That sounds amazing! Have a wonderful trip! Hope to read all about it!!! 🙂

  4. Your life is so full of celebrations these days! Have a wonderful time in China and I can’t wait to read about it. This is your summer of adventure, enjoy!

  5. If only Kelly Gallagher could’ve spoken all day… It was great to share moments like that with you. I can’t wait to read about China; the only way I would ever want to experience something like that is vicariously–you are indeed brave! I love your reflection about Ruth and seeing ourselves from others’ perspectives. So true!

  6. I loved your reflections. You are brave. I am axious to hear about your adventure. I will look forward to hearing about your book study as well. Summer Camp indeed! with celebrations for the year!

  7. Your life is full of celebrations! Thank you for sharing. Happy trails as you leave for China! What a grand adventure. I am glad I got to know a bit of bubbly you at All Write!

Leave a Reply

