Late Saturday/Sunday Celebration

Discover. Play. Build.

Ruth Ayres invites us to share our celebrations from the week each Saturday.  Thank you, Ruth, for reminding me to celebrate. Share yours at Ruth Ayres Writes.

It was another loooong week, so I welcomed Saturday with relief.  Although the week was tough, I still have many celebrations.

1. Yesterday I had an opportunity to observe in another classroom at a different school in my district.  The teacher was amazing and her classroom embodied all that I want to do with my students.  It was nice to see things I’ve tried and that I know to be best practice in action and working in her classroom.  Her passion for teaching and the positive results with her students reenergized me.

I excitedly rushed back to school to find a defeated co-worker (she stayed back at school on Friday and had a major fight in her classroom that day and was just trying to regroup when I saw her).  We discussed what I learned and started to develop a plan to implement some changes for Monday.  We collaborated with lesson planning and rearranged both of our rooms to reflect the new family groupings we are going to start.  (I’ve tried a variation of this with my kids before, but  it wasn’t effective.  However, I’m going to give it a chance again with some minor changes.)

2. Today I had my first trip to KidSmart (a store where teachers from high poverty schools can “shop” monthly for free classroom supplies).  Another co-worker and I went and loaded up our carts with great books and supplies.  I was also able to get binders for all of my students, so I’m going to try to help my kids get organized with a new system I saw at my observation.  I know it’s late in the year, but I’m still trying.

3. It’s beginning to look a lot like St. Patrick’s Day at my house!  I live in an Irish part of town that has a huge St. Patrick’s Day celebration. We usually have a party and walk to the festivities with friends and spend the day going back and forth from our the parade to our house.  In preparation for the day we busted out some green decor and straightened up a bit.  It was nice to have another excuse to clean the house, especially because my house has been neglected with all my stress from work.  St. Pat's Mantle

I also like feeling less cluttered and more on top of things at home.  It always seems like this helps my week go better at work when I’ve had a chance to get my house together.  And, I love decorating for holidays.  It makes me feel like a little kid again.

4. I’ve been wanting to find something with my grandpa’s handwriting since he passed away.  I found this necklace on Pinterest where you can turn someone’s handwriting into a necklace.  After I found it, I told my cousin and we thought our moms would love something with their dad’s writing.  So, we decided we’d try to find a card from him and have a necklace made for all the other girls in the family with his writing.  I was so sad when I couldn’t find any old cards from him, especially because I’m usually such a sentimental pack rat.

Recently I purged and threw away a bunch of cards in a feng shui craze, and I was so angry today thinking it meant I didn’t have anything left from my grandpa.  I was most upset because I wanted his writing with his nickname for me.

Even though I was getting frustrated at what seemed to be a hopeless search, I enjoyed reading through other notes from loved ones and felt an overwhelming sense of gratitude for all the love I’ve always had in my life.  I found notes from my grandmas from growing up, and I even rediscovered notes my dad sent me each week while I was away at college.

I called my dad to thank him for these cards, and I continued to thumb through my stack of letters and cards searching for something from my grandpa.  Just when I was about to give up, I stumbled upon an envelope he wrote to me with my nickname, It a bits, on it.

I called my grandma, and she told me she found me in his rolodex under It a bits too.  This made me smile, and asked her to save the “I” page for me.  I think I might frame it.  Envelope from Papa and Notes from Dad

5. I’m also celebrating finding a spot for the puzzle I gave my grandpa a few years ago.  I love that it’s the first thing I see each day when I come home.

Puzzle

2 thoughts on “Late Saturday/Sunday Celebration

  1. Oh, Jen, so much to celebrate. Glad you have some cohorts at school. That makes all the difference in the world! Yes, I still like to celebrate all the holidays some how. It think that’s part “teacher” in us. Right now, there is a lot of green around my house. I also have my shamrock vase out from Ireland my mom gave me. You are a gem and I love reading your posts.

  2. Tam,
    Thank you for your kind response. I love that you read my blog and always comment.

    I finally was able to comment to your name post. I kept trying last night, but it would not go through. I apologize if they all come through and you have like 10 of the same comment from me :).

    Jen

Leave a Reply

