Celebrations

What can you celebrate? Share your celebrations with the world at Ruth Ayres Writes.

Ruth Ayres invites us to share our celebrations from the week each Saturday.  Thank you, Ruth, for reminding me to celebrate. Share yours at Ruth Ayres Writes.

1. Reconnecting with a Best Friend

Life gets busy.  It’s really no excuse, but sometimes I don’t know what I’ve been doing before I realize I have no idea what’s going on with my family/friends.  I’ve been blessed with some of the best girl friends a girl could ever ask for, and I have one that I lost touch with a few years ago.  She was a very best friend.  Life happened, and I let distance come between us (I still feel bad about it).  She’s a nurse (she actually just became a nurse practitioner), so this past week when I was sick and having all sorts of funky things happen she was naturally the first person I thought to consult.  With all my extra time, these texts became the highlight of my day and began to be a fun way we reconnected.  I love that she was there for me in this way.  I don’t think I could have gotten through all my weird side effects without her knowledge/encouragement.  I’m celebrating feeling like it doesn’t matter how much time or distance are between you and a best friend.  I guess this is what makes a best friend a best friend.  I’m happy to have found an easy way for us to stay in touch.

2. Instagram

I sometimes sign up for things I hear about before I have any idea how to properly use them (probably why my blog still has some links or parts missing).  I did this with Instagram too.  While I was texting my friend this past week, I found out she was also on Instagram.  I realized by friending her I could see pictures she posts of her new baby.  I didn’t even know you could do that!  Last night I started finding more of my friends. I’m so excited to have a glimpse into their daily lives.  It’s been so fun to figure out Instagram a little better and to see many of my friends and their kiddos.

3. Card from Grandma

My grandma has been mentally declining fast for the past few years.  It’s been hard to watch her confusion.  Sometimes her child-like innocence provides a chuckle, but other times it is depressing to see this woman who is no longer herself.

One of the things I remember most about my grandma was her love of mail and cards.  She would send me a card for everything, and she never forgot an occasion.  I have boxes of cards from her from growing up.  A few years ago when she began to decline I’d get two Valentine’s Day cards, because she forgot she already sent one.  The last few holidays I either got a card where she signed her deceased husband’s name too, or I didn’t get a card at all.  Yesterday, I got a card from my grandma.  The fact that it was on time, written legibly (her handwriting has begun to change and has been hard to read), and the writing made perfect sense made my day.  I felt like I had my grandma back.  I’m celebrating this moment and holding on to who she was.

4. Letter from Myself

I got my first email from Future Me.  It was funny to get an encouraging email from myself.  The timing was pretty great though, so I think I’m going to have to keep sending myself messages.

Happy Saturday,

Jen

3 thoughts on “Celebrations

  1. After reading some of your past posts, you have really had a rough time lately. I hate to hear that you were so sick. I guess if you try to find a positive, it is that you reconnected with a friend. That is very important and certainly something to celebrate. My grandma’s story is very similar to yours. It is so sad to see their mental health decline. I don’t know about yours, but mine gets so frustrated when she can’t remember something or can’t say something right. It breaks my heart. I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. I too am sorry you’ve had such a tough time lately, Jen. It seems that you are making the positive out of the negative, what a good thing to do. I hope your weekend is a very nice one, filled with more wonderful parts like that card from your grandma!

Leave a Reply

