Late Slicing and Celebrations – Better Late Than Never

A week has gone by and I haven’t sliced or celebrated.  It was a rough week.  Because of all the snow St. Louis got, it was the first 5 day week since before Christmas break.  The kids were crazy, I was tired, and my bosses seemed to have a laundry list of to dos they wanted implemented immediately.

Tuesday came and went, and I honestly didn’t even know what day it was.  I was grumpy, and my resolutions I had had the time to work on leisurely during the snow days were going out the window quickly.  I definitely wasn’t THRIVING, and I was mad.  Mad at myself for not being more balanced and mad that I couldn’t let some things go to try to take better care of myself.

Friday I stayed at work until almost 10 pm to try to work on the checklist I was given Tuesday by my administrators, so Saturday I felt like I was honestly going to die.

Some great celebrations/awareness happened somewhere in the middle though:

1. Rafe Esquith (Teach Like Your Hair is on Fire author) invited me to come and see his children perform Cymbeline in May.  I’m so excited.  My friends and I are trying to coordinate the dates right now.  He is one of my favorite educators, and I’ve been lucky enough to not only meet him, but to consider him a friend/mentor.  We correspond regularly.

2. My friend told me something obvious that has really resonated with me.  She said the people and things in our lives should make us well.  I know for some this may be a no brainer, but I struggle with this.  I’ve begun to ask myself, “Does this make me well?”  If my answer is no, I’m considering how I can make changes.  I’m also trying to remind myself that God keeps showing me things that aren’t quite right so I move on to what He has planned for me.  I’m finding peace with this instead of resisting and being upset about what doesn’t feel right.

3. A co-worker stayed with me late on Friday helping me to rearrange my room and make a dent in my to do list.  She wanted nothing in return, but she knew I needed help.  I’m so grateful for her time and guidance.  I’m still not done, but it is much farther thanks to her.

4. I called my dad to say hello and he said, “Did you get married?”

“No, Dad, why?”  I asked him.

“Well, I was talking to my friend, Joe, and he said he’s going to be a grandpa again.  I told him I’ll probably never be a grandpa; my daughter isn’t even married.”

“Oh, okay.  Well I just wanted to call and say hi, and I miss you.”  Thanks for reminding me I’m not married and childless I thought to myself.

This conversation initially offended me, but then it became a gift.  It kind of goes along with my 2nd celebration.  God is giving me little reminders of where He wants me to be moving.  Sometimes He speaks to me through others.  I’m grateful my dad reminded me to check in with my current situation and see how I want to move forward.

I hope everyone has a great week.

Jen

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Late Slicing and Celebrations – Better Late Than Never

  1. I was starting to get worried when you hadn’t posted in awhile! But it does sound like your life has been a bit stressful. Hopefully this week will be better for you. God does send us messages, but sometimes we forget to listen…or choose not to. I know he has great things planned for you! Have a great week!

  2. Huge week for you. Kudos to you for dealing with it all and coming out on the positive side. Goes along with “It’s not what happens to you, but how you deal with it is what really matters” or something like that. Rafe and your co-worker could not imagine what they did for you. Thank goodness for the good people around us. Take care, Jen. Will be waiting for your next post–blogging is good for you.

Leave a Reply

