Another Snow Day

I just looked down at the clock and panicked when I realized it was after 5.  I can’t believe how today has gotten away from me.  I hadn’t sliced, made dinner, or finished a million things on my to do list.

Today was my 2nd snow day of the week, and I was productive.  If you are a teacher you understand though that you can work all night and still have more you’d like to do for tomorrow.  There’s never enough time; there’s always more to do.

Then, I got the call.  The superintendent started by saying, “It’s me again.  There’s some trouble with the buses, so there will be no school on Wednesday, January 8th.”

Halleluja!  These last few days have been a true blessing.  There’s been a little bit of work mixed in with a whole lot of relaxation (last night I didn’t even have to change into my pj’s because I never got out of them :)).  I wasn’t expecting a 3rd snow day, but I will take it.

I love the time I’ve had to indulge in some reading and rediscovered some websites and ideas I’ve wanted to try out for myself and incorporate in my lessons.  Today I rediscovered http://www.futureme.org/ a cool website where you can write yourself a letter that will arrive to your email at a later date.  I wrote an encouraging letter to myself to arrive one month from today (snow days can’t last forever- so I’m sure I’ll need it by then).  My students are also going to write themselves with their goals for 2014.  They’ll send it so it arrives at the end of the school year.  This should offer a nice reflection piece.

It’s been wonderful to slow down and have time to think and prepare.  I’m going to keep working tonight and on my snow day tomorrow to try to get ahead.  Hopefully this will help me to have a clearer mind even if we don’t get anymore snow days.

6 thoughts on “Another Snow Day

  1. I only wish my husband would understand that a teacher’s work is never done! We have a third snow day too. I still have writing prompts to score…I just can’t get into it. Maybe tomorrow! I am going to have to check out the website too. Sounds interesting!

Leave a Reply

