What I’m Celebrating

Discover. Play. Build.

I need to be honest and admit I’ve been really grumpy lately.  It’s been hard to get out of bed most mornings.  Between the cold weather and the challenges of my job, I would rather stay safe and warm under my covers.

I switched to a new school this year, and it’s been challenging to say the least.  Most of my kiddos are facing things outside of school no child should ever have to endure.  With that being said, my job as their teacher is hard.  Most days teaching them (trying to teach them) the academics seems like I’m doing them a disservice and not addressing their real needs.  Some days I feel like I can’t or don’t want to do it.  My best friend, Gwyn, always reminds me, “If not you, then who.”

In the midst of my struggle, I sat with a student yesterday and encouraged her with her math.  I assured her, “You can do this.  You are getting bits and pieces of it.  Don’t give up.  I can see that you are giving up before we start.  If you stick with it, I know you are going to get this.”

As I sat with her, I heard the words coming out of my mouth and realized they were addressed to me as much as they were to her.  It amazes me even in the middle of all my craziness that I might forget to turn to God (the only guy I should be turning to), but He doesn’t forget about me.  I’m grateful for gentle reminders that God is with me.

8 thoughts on “What I’m Celebrating

  1. It looks like you figured out how to get the Celebrate icon. 🙂 Celebrating perseverance and accomplishments are huge! I know you are in a challenging district. Let’s meet up!

  2. I ‘think’ we met last June at All-Write, Jen, through Ruth and all the slicers? Anyway, I missed you last week, but here I am, cheering you on in your celebration. What a tough time for all the kids, and for you too. In spite of their hardships, I still believe that education is a huge key to solving many of the problems. Teachers who love them like you do will make a difference in their futures. Best to you in I assume the week before break, and having a happy time!

  3. My principal asked me once how things were going. I told him, “I sure was learning a lot.” Then he said, “Are your students learning?” It’s a two way street. You can’t teach without learning a lot about yourself and the lives of kids around you. Sometimes the curriculum does seem irrelevant. I was in a new school, in a new town in my late 40’s after being out of the classroom for years. By October, I was wanting out of the whole business. I even looked for a new career the next summer. It was not to happen. I realized this is where I was to grow along with my students. I had good years, bad years, but the good teachers around me and the students who made it all worthwhile kept me above water. Then came writing workshop that got me closer to kids with curriculum. Hang in there. You will find your niche–what works for you and them–keep your eye on what’s important. So good to see your blog!!! Celebrate, celebrate and dance.

Leave a Reply

