Getting Started

It’s been months since my first All Write Conference when I met dozens of wonderful new people all telling me, “All you need is a blog name.”

I’m not going to lie, I initially thought they were crazy.  I couldn’t imagine what I’d have to write about.  Sure, I consider myself a writer.  I have a writer’s notebook I carry with me everywhere so I can jot down a quote I want to remember or an idea I want to save for later.  But, the idea of blogging seemed too out there, too public.  I couldn’t imagine I could write anything online others would want to read.

However, after I got home, I had this burning itch to write.  Ideas started flooding toward me. Inspiration was coming from everywhere, and I yearned to become a part of this community.  I felt like a little sister watching her older sister and all of her friends going out and wishing I could tag along.

My first block came with not thinking of that “name” they all said I needed.  I reached out to Ruth, who sent me to Tam, and I still couldn’t quite get that perfect title.  So, I stepped away.

Last week my friend from Italy came and visited.  As were were visiting and talking about life and fate, she said, “It’s like that flipping a coin quote.”

I love quotes, so I was intrigued, but I had no idea what she meant.  She stumbled to explain and keep the meaning intact from Italian to English.  I immediately went to Google, and I fell in love with this quote that has inspired my new blog name:

“When you have to make a hard decision, flip a coin.  Why?  Because when that coin is in the air, you suddenly know what you’re hoping for.” -me n.n

I’m in love with this quote.  It is so me.  I struggle to make decisions and have felt stuck wanting to move forward.  I ask people all the time what I should do about big things and trivial things, only to squirm when they say what I don’t like.

As I get older, I’m learning to be gentle with myself and give myself permission to make my own choices and be okay with them, especially if they are not what I think everyone else thinks I should do.

So, here I am.  I’m ready to flip a coin and ready to move forward with life and my new blog.

9 thoughts on “Getting Started

  1. It’s about time! I’ve been waiting for you to jump into this public writing world. I love the name! I’m looking forward to reading more of your thoughts. Planning on going back to All- Write? I am. 🙂

    • Thanks, Elsie. Yes, I’d love to go back this year. I need to check the dates. I’m signing up to teach in China this summer, so I want to make sure it doesn’t overlap. Let’s keep in touch.
      Jen

  2. Welcome to the blogging world. Like Ruth, I love the quote! I collect quotes too, and this one is definitely a keeper! Hope you will join us at Ruth Ayres Writes for her Celebration Saturday or for Slice of Life on Tuesdays (www.twowritingteachers.wordpress.com).

  3. Welcome, Jen! Like Elsie, I’ve been waiting and watching for you. It was delightful to meet you at All-Write last summer. I, too, lurked in the wings for some time before an incredible group of students encouraged me to join my blogging friends. I’m so glad they did!

    • Ramona, I’m so glad you found me. I am glad I joined too. Still have no idea what I’m doing :). I can’t even get my page to look how I want it to. I think I put myself out there before I was ready, but I guess that will force me to keep it going.

Leave a Reply

